23 April

Latin America featured in UIA2021RIO

The Latin American Architecture Biennials Network (REDBAAL) confirms its participation […]

The Latin American Architecture Biennials Network (REDBAAL) confirms its participation in the 27th World Congress of Architects, through a string of events presenting and analysing the evolution of architecture on this continent.

The Inhabit Latin America set of dialogues begins in April. These virtual discussions are transmitted live through the REDBAAL website and its YouTube channel. Three dialogues are scheduled for each month from April to June.

In all, 27 designers of selected projects will participate in three editions of the Oscar Niemeyer Award, with nine moderators working in Architecture Schools at Latin American Universities. After each transmission, the videos will be subtitled and released through the exclusive UIA2021RIO platform.

In April, the first dialogue cycle interlinks the concepts of Matter; Memory; and Territory. Scheduled for April 26, 28 and 30, they will be available through the UIA2021RIO platform in the first half of May. The second cycle is scheduled for May 24, 26 and 28, on the topics of: Landscapes; Territories of the Collectivity; Urban Articulations. On June 21, 23 and 25, these dialogues explore the topics of Inhabiting Densities; Other Tasks; and Ancestralities.

The April schedule is as follows:

April 26 – Heritage of Matter

Moderator: Gustavo Rocha (Rio de Janeiro Federal University – UFRJ)

April 28 – Heritage of Territory

Moderator: Paulo Dam (Catholic University of Perú)

April 30 – Matter of Territory

Moderator: Felipe Leal (National Autonomous University of Mexico – UNAM)

July:  Exhibition, Book Launch and Master Classes

The REDBAAL Programme at UIA2021RIO continues in July, with even more activities.

The official catalogue for the III Oscar Niemeyer Award will be launched as a digital publication, with pictures and descriptions of the twenty winning project designs in 2020.

The virtual exhibition of Contemporary Latin American Architecture will highlight the best of the project designs shortlisted and honoured in all three editions of this Award (2016, 2018 and 2020). The exhibition is curated by the Graduate Studies Programme in Architecture (PROARQ/FAU /UFRJ), directed by architect Professor Ana Paula Polizzo.

The designers of the winning projects in all three editions of the Oscar Niemeyer Award will give Master Classes exclusively for Congress attendees.