Five years ago, Rio, in a dispute against Melbourne and Paris, has won the right to host the biggest architecture event in the world

In 2014, the Brazilian delegation celebrating that Rio was chosen to host the World Congress of Architects

It was an intense dispute. On August 10, it is celebrated five years since Rio de Janeiro was chosen to host the 27th World Congress of Architects.

In 2014, after a tough voting at the General Assembly of the International Union of Architects (UIA), the Brazilian city overcame two strong competitors, starting to organize the event that will happen in 2020.

The dispute was against Melbourne (Australia) and Paris (France). More than 200 delegates have participated in the choice in Durban, South Africa. On the first round, Rio got 85 votes, while Melbourne got 73 and, Paris, 44. On the second round, there were 107 votes for Rio and 95 for the Australian city.

With the theme “All the worlds. Just one world. Architecture 21”, UIA 2020 RIO’s proposal is to put into perspective the diversity and multiplicity of the urban forms around the world, promoting the exchange of ideas and experiences.

UIA 2020 RIO believes in the responsibility of Architecture to reduce inequalities, to protect the environment and to stand up for the necessities of future generations.

The estimated public is more than 20 thousand people from the areas of architecture, urbanism and landscaping, besides leaderships and other interested groups from the civil society. The debates will be around topics such as infrastructure, construction, housing, mobility, culture, sustainability and urban planning.

UIA 2020 RIO happens from the 19th to the 23rd of July. Hundreds of people have already guaranteed their participation in the event that will turn Rio into the epicentre of debate about the cities of the future. If you have not registered yet, guarantee the discount here.

Between those who are confirmed as speakers, there are the architects and members of the Honour Committee Francis Kéré, Solano Benítez and Elizabeth de Portzamparc. The World Congress also celebrates the fact that Rio de Janeiro was the first city to win the title of World Capital of Architecture by UNESCO.



Institutional Partners

Institutional Support

Partnership on Paper and Design Works

Media Partner

Travel Agency



Executive Secretariat